Archive for July 11th, 2008




Give me an S for Seychelles!!!

 

The assignment given was to find a blog around the world that begins with your name and check out the country’s blogosphere. Well that was easy. My name begins with an S so I decided to do Seychelles. Seychelles islands are located off of the east coast of Africa that I have always wanted to visit. The population as of 2007 was an estimated 81,895 people. I first came across Seychelles with my cousin; we were doing searches of where to go on vacation and stumbled upon this. We went to this The Banyan Tree and fell in love with the resort. So in love that I want to have my honeymoon there!  From that point on I had been very interested in Seychelles. I guarantee if you go on that sight you will soon all in love too.

 

            This was the perfect opportunity for me to explore a different side of the island. A side other then just the luxurious resort I would like to stay in. This was a time for me to see what the blogosphere action in Seychelles. In doing my research on Global Voices Online, I found that there wasn’t much activity in the blogosphere. In addition some of the records that showed links to blogs where actually not there when I clicked on the specific dates. But what I did find was that they tended to blog a great deal of other African countries. The blogs raised issues such as migration, economy, the World Cup, territories, military, colonization, homosexuality, slavery, sports, and religion. It was interesting to see that there was no real consistency in blogging. I also found it interesting that they didn’t once mention Seychelles it was all about other countries in Africa or Africa as a whole. I do still want to go there on my honeymoon, isn’t it beautiful J !

Add a comment July 11, 2008

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category