Archive for July 18th, 2008




How I Landed in Public Relations

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” that is a common question that we have been asked growing up. My answer to that question when as a kid was a doctor. That was actually my answer all the way until I was a freshman in college. My how things have changed. I am getting my Masters in Public Relations. Throughout college I changed my major several times, I wanted to do physical therapy, then I wanted to do athletic training, and then I wanted to do public health outreach.  The funny thing is the minute after I graduated I began to look for jobs in my field, what I realized was that all the jobs that seemed interesting to me required another concentration or required more experience. I had worked through out high school and college but since I changed my major several times my internships were in other areas. What I understood through this process is that it is best to work backwards. YES, backwards. I feel that you should look at jobs, act as if you are going to apply and see what the requirements are, what you need to do to get a position like that. Based on that you should begin to work towards that, which is exactly what I began to do. I decided to do a full research of possible jobs that I would like to do; I did a 1 year plan, a 5 year plan and a 10 year plan. That would enable me to see what I have to do in each benchmark to reach my overall goal. I wish someone would have told me this a lot earlier.  So I felt I should get this out to the world, although we state what we want to do we should really see how we want to get there, or how we can get there. My favorite was craigslist.com I just love that site!

1 comment July 18, 2008

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category