Hit and Run

July 24, 2008 salfred
Tags: , ,

 

After reading The Living is Easy’s class blog I wanted to share a similar incidence that happened to me. The blog discusses how at the start of their vacation they were faced with dealing with a hit and run of their parked rental car. Luckily for them one of the witnesses was a police officer and personally chased the vehicle and took pictures of the vehicle and tags. My experience was a little different in the sense it was in my home town. About 4 days a week I go to a local studio where I partake in aerobics. Since I am a regular of the studio and the neighborhood I often say hello to the guys that stand outside of the barbershop and the receptionist in the studio. So one day I arrive at my usual time, park my car, say hello and walk in. About 5 minutes after I put my mat down, I am sitting waiting for the class to start, I hear a woman come in frantic screaming “does anyone have a green Altima, does anyone have a green Altima?” It took a minute for me to register that that was my car, as soon as I realized it was mine, I said yes and jumped up. The lady said that they had just seen someone hit and run my car. “We have written down the tags and we know the lady she just so happened to also be a regular at my studio and we can help you report it.” I run frantically to my car and luckily there was no damage. I came back in and thanked everyone. Apparently the guys in the barbershop had noticed it too. The lady came back in the next week and asked one of the employees if anyone had seen her hit the car. The lady said yes they had and that she should leave her contact information for me. The next time I came in they had contact information waiting for me if there were any damages. It just showed me how the strangers of my community could work together. Although they are not complete strangers like in the other instance, I don’t know them more than a hello. But they took it upon themselves to come in and ask. The outrage in their voices made me feel secure that they didn’t want anything bad to happen to someone who belonged to the studio and even though the other lady had done wrong, they helped convince her that she should do the right thing.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts